Set the Default Program (Word 2003 or Word 2007) to Open .DOC Documents

On your machine with both word 2003 and word 2007 installed, the most recently installed version gets the default file type.

You can change the sequence as follows:

To set Word 2003 as the default, open Word 2003. Click on Help and then Detect and Repair.

To set Word 2007 as the default, open Word 2007. Click on Office button -> Word Options -> Resources -> Diagnose.

13 Responses to “Set the Default Program (Word 2003 or Word 2007) to Open .DOC Documents”

  1. Scott Stanley Says:

    What a perfect response. This worked so well, and I was getting frustrated finding a way to do this. Thank you!

  2. Satish Chandra Says:

    What a nifty solution! Great!! It sure takes care of my frustrations.

  3. aaas Says:

    “Set the Default Program (Word 2003 or Word 2007”
    that’s EXACTLY what I was looking for and it works great.
    2007 was pre-installed ; then i installed 2003 again ,but docs -still- kept defalting to 2007 . God I HATE word2007 (same as Vista) so now i’ve got word2003 back as a default i had to say a big THANK YOU ! you saved me from going insane !

  4. Calvin Says:

    But after setting 2003 as the default, if 2007 is opened, it will become default again…… How can we stop this?

  5. Mia Says:

    That was exactly what I was looking for…
    I’m gonna bookmark this page and look for answers here right away next time before wasting time trying to retrace the microsoft guy’s logic.
    Thanx a lot!

  6. Leo Lee Says:

    This is what I am exactly looking for!
    What a perfect solution.. you save my googling “good” solution which dosnt address to my problem!

    Thank You!

  7. Lim Says:

    Good Solution!

    Thanks!

  8. Sue Ness Says:

    Thank you for your help, I have finally got use to word 2007 and don’t want to go back to the old version. I had to install 2003 as my publisher never worked on 2007 version.

  9. Bhavin Says:

    It works. Thank you.

  10. Jenny Says:

    If you desire to increase your knowledge simply keep visiting this web site and be updated
    with the most up-to-date information posted here.

  11. N Karthik Says:

    great ya.. its working

  12. pit online gov Says:

    Very good blog you have here but I was wanting to know if you knew of any discussion boards that cover the
    same topics discussed here? I’d really love to be a part of online community where I can get feedback from other knowledgeable people that share the same interest. If you have any recommendations, please let me know. Kudos!

  13. File Association Dilemma in Vista [ANSWERED] - Tech ABC to XYZ Says:

    […] to this it seems you can restore file associations by going to Help -> Detect and Repair in Office […]

Leave a comment