3 types of cells used in SSD

ST, DL, 4 Sep 2013

SSDs use Nand flash memory, which stores data in memory cells. There are are three types of cells –
single level cells (SLC), multi level cells (MLC) and triple level cells (TLC).

SLC SSDs provide the best performance and reliability at the highest cost, followed by MLC. TLC drives are the most affordable but offer the slowest performance and write endurance. It is all about trade-offs. While SSDs tend to come in a standard 2.5-inch form factor, there are some differences in the thickness of the drive and can come in thickness of 7mm or 9.5mm.

You have to ensure that you get the correct thickness for the drive bay of the laptop. An SSD that is 9.5mm thick may not fit an ultrabook. Thickness is not an issue for desktop PCs, as SSD upgrade kits for desktops come with housing brackets that allow SSDs to fit in larger storage expansion slots. Besides standard SSDs, there are also mSata variants that look like a circuit board and are often used in the slimmer ultrabooks. Make sure you purchase the appropriate SSD.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: